Home > Best Tools > SHOP FOX W1678 5 HP 26-Inch Drum Sander

SHOP FOX W1678 5 HP 26-Inch Drum Sander

SHOP FOX W1678 5 HP 26-Inch Drum Sander

SHOP FOX W1678 5 HP 26-Inch Drum Sander

Product Description

From the Manufacturer SHOP FOX W1678 5 HP 26-Inch Drum Sander

Dual drum with hook and loop sandpaper attachment Footprint: 36-3/4-Inch wide by 23-3/4-Inch deep power cord size: 10-Feet by 12 AWG Powder coated paint

 

Product Description SHOP FOX W1678 5 HP 26-Inch Drum Sander

Wheter quickly surface sanding large quantities of panel assemblies, or achieving “tear-out” free finishes on figured wood, the Shop Fox W1678 efficiently performs a function no other machine can fullfill! At a full 26″ wide, this dual drum sander can be fitted with two different grits allowing both rough and finish sanding in one pass. Push aside your old hand sander make room for this one!

Customer Reviews SHOP FOX W1678 5 HP 26-Inch Drum Sander

This review is from: SHOP FOX W1678 5 HP 26-Inch Drum Sander

By : Dustin G. Haugh

First off I have had experience with wide belt sanders and I wasn’t sure if a drum sander was going to be as good. I run a small one man cabinet shop with limited space so I was looking at getting a 15″ open end wide belt. The price tag on the wide belt was a little more than I could afford at the time but I had a friend that was selling this machine for $800 so I took it with out complaint.

WOAH, it’s a lot bigger in person than what I expected from the pictures and boy is it heavy but even after being used for two years in a cabinet shop it was in perfect condition, just a little dusty. I put new j-hook sandpaper on it and it works great.

There are a few differences between this and the wide belts I’ve used. A wide belt will leave a slightly smoother surface because the belt oscillates and the drums do not. Widebelts also have better dust collection and it takes less time to change out belts. YOU WILL NEED a 2hp canister dust collector AT LEAST or the dust will kill you! I’m using a 1-1/2 hp shop fox bag dust collector and I cough up junk every morning. It sucks, anyway…

This 5hp double drum sander can take off more material during a pass than a single drum 5 hp widebelt. I don’t think the difference in finish matters much because you’ll have to hit both with a random orbital sander to clean it up anyways.

If you are not in a constant production environment and you have good dust collection don’t waste too much money on a widebelt, get this double drum sander instead.

If your still unsure about having enough power I use this sander on solid hickory panel doors constantly and it never has a problem. I love using it to clean up burl!

Dollar for dollar you get more from your drum sander than a widebelt if you ask me and if your doing solid side panels on your base cabinets the 26″ capacity is perfect.

  1. No comments yet.
  1. No trackbacks yet.

Leave a comment